Just a block off uptown Charlotte’s intersection at Trade and Tryon stands a piece of history that’s withstood nearly a century of change. Built in 1924 and named for one of its original investors, the Johnston Building is still an active and thriving part of the bustling uptown business scene.
Tucked in the shadows of Charlotte’s modern day skyscrapers that double or triple its original height, the Johnston Building had a two-year run as Charlotte’s tallest office building at 15 floors. Two more floors were added in 1929, all of which have housed attorneys, cotton brokers, realtors, insurance agents, and more over the years.
That the 1920’s were times of prosperity is seldom disputed, and lingering evidence of this can still be seen on the Charlotte streetscape. A publication by the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce, dating from 1927, shows that the dollar amount of investments in new buildings more than tripled between 1920 and 1926. Several landmark buildings were erected during the decade, including the Hotel Charlotte, the First National Bank, Mayfair Manor, the courthouse and the old City Hall. The Addison and Poplar apartments were also built during this era.
With its expansive, breathtaking lobby and beautiful carved marble staircase, the Johnston Building is a testament to the timelessness of hand-craftsmanship, and the lasting beauty that these natural materials provide.
The Johnston Building was purchased by its current owner, The Dilweg Companies, in 2015. To preserve and protect this iconic building, State Building Services provides stone and metal care, as well as other restorative work.